Published December 10, 2020

First awarded at ESPA 2019, in honour of Professor Paul Kennedy - Founding Chair of ESPA (2005-2016); and Head of Department of Clinical Psychology, National Spinal Injuries Centre, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust and Director of the Oxford Institute of Clinical Psychology, Harris Manchester College, University of Oxford. The scholarship provides sponsorship for a workshop or oral presentation about a clinical intervention at an ESPA conference and is open to anyone working in the field of spinal cord injury.

Sponsorship is 500 GBP towards ESPA conference registration, travel and accommodation costs. With grateful thanks to Stewarts for their generous sponsorship of this award.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2024 - Dr Kimberley Monden (University of Minnesota Medical School, USA) Feasibility and preliminary outcomes of HRV biofeedback in individuals with tetraplegia and anxiety
  • 2022 – Rebecca Eaton (Oxford Institute of Clinical Psychology Research and Training, University of Oxford) Fatigue: multidimensional impact on whole body and mind
  • 2019 - Maren Westphal (Pace University, USA) Mindfulness and Self Compassion: potential contributions to coping with SCI